The Academy of Dental Materials (ADM) offers a Student Travel Award in recognition of excellence in dental biomaterials research. The primary purpose of the award is to encourage and recognize outstanding research by students currently enrolled in an education program in areas relevant to the mission of the ADM. The financial support from the award should facilitate the presentation of the research, by the student, at the annual meeting of the ADM.


The applicant must be a student at a recognized academic institution. Individuals engaged in post-doctoral activities are not eligible for this award.

  • The student’s advisor on the abstract must be a member in good standing of the ADM.
  • The student’s abstract must be accepted for presentation via the Academy’s review process.
  • The student must be the first and presenting author on the abstract.
  • The student must be in good standing at his/her academic institution at the time of the award.
  • The student can only apply to one ADM award per annual meeting.
  • Previous awardees of the Student Travel Award are ineligible.


  • Students need to apply for the award when submitting an abstract/poster for the ADM annual conference.
  • In addition to the online conference abstract/poster submission, applicants need to submit an extended two pages abstract (1000 words, plus one figure or table) with detailed sections and a brief statement on the relevance to the dental biomaterials field. This extended abstract is due by the abstract submission deadline and should be sent to the Chair of the ADM Student Travel Award Committee (
  • A verification letter of the educational status is required and can be provided by the section supervisor, department chair or dean of the institution.


  • The ADM Student Travel Award Committee will consist of the President, Secretary and two Board Members-at-Large. Contact E-Mail:
  • The ADM Student Travel Award Committee will review all successfully submitted nominations from the abstract reviewers and will make the final decision on the awardee(s) according to a regional support. Winners will be contacted by the Final Acceptance Date and awarded at the ADM Annual Meeting.
  • A maximum of five Student Travel Awards will be presented annually, according to the following regions: North America, Latin America, Europe, Asia/Middle East, Asia/ Pacific Region.
  • The regional affiliation is according to the location of the applicant host university.


  • A certificate of recognition (awarded during the Awards ceremony of the upcoming ADM meeting).
  • US $1000 towards actual travel/lodging expenses (awarded during the Awards ceremony of the upcoming ADM meeting).
    The award will be rescinded if the applicant fails to attend the upcoming annual meeting.
  • Free meeting registration as a student member for the upcoming ADM meeting.

Award Winners

2023 South America May Anny Fraga FOP-Unicamp Brazil
2023 North America Zachary Gouveia University of Toronto Canada
2023 North America Jaccare Jauregui-Ulloa University of Mississippi Medical Center United States
2023 Asia Shixin Jin University of Hong Kong China
2023 Asia Min-Yong Lee Yonsei University College of Dentistry Korea
2023 South America Génesis Sulay Alfonzo León São Paulo State University Brazil
2022 Europe Andrea Baldi University of Turin Dental School Italy
2022 Asia/Pacific Rosalind Sin Man Chan University of Hong Kong China
2022 North America Mengxuan Chen University of British Columbia Canada
2022 Asia/Pacific Yanning Chen University of Hong Kong China
2022 Asia/Pacific Ji-Won Choi Yonsei University College of Dentistry South Korea
2022 South America Karina Felix Santos University of Sao Paulo School of Dentistry Brazil
2022 Europe Ahmed Fouda University Hospital Bonn Germany
2021 (No Travel Awards)
2020 (No Travel Awards)
2019 Asia/Pacific Tae-Yun Kang Yonsei University College of Dentistry South Korea
2019 North America Abdulrahman Balhaddad University of Maryland, Baltimore United States
2019 North America Lauren Corby University of Mississippi Medical Center United States
2018 Latin America Rodrigo Ottoni University of Passa Fundo Brazil
2018 North America Kartikeya Jodha University of Mississippi Medical Center United States
2017 Latin America Diego Santos Manarao University of Sao Paulo Brazil
2017 Europe Allegra Comba University of Bologna Italy
2017 Asia/Pacific Ting Wang University of Hong Kong Hong Kong
2017 Asia/Middle East Hafiz Muhammad Owais Nasim University of Health Sciences, Lahore Pakistan

Want to become member? Click “Join or Renew” below for more information, including fees and how to sign up.